FTP Explorer Help

File Menu

The File Menu options allow keyboard access to all commands available for any file or directory that may be encountered while using the program.  Program control options like Exit are also contained in the File Menu.

New Window

This option will launch another instance of FTP Explorer.

Open

The Open option is available if a connection is active, and a file is highlighted. Choose the Open option to download the file, and open it with its associated application. If no application is associated with the file, an error will pop up detailing that is the case.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file you want to open and select this option from the Context Menu.

Quick View

The Quick View option is for use with files that are supported by a quick view driver for Windows 95™. Several vendors have made viewers available for their file formats, and it is a fair probability that more vendors will follow in their steps. The Quick View option will retrieve the highlighted file, and attempt to display its contents within the quick viewer. This option is only available if a connection is active, and a file is currently selected.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file you want to use quick view with and select this option from the Context Menu.

Create Shortcut

This option is only available when a server connection is active, and a directory on the server is highlighted in either the Tree View or File View areas of the program. When this option is selected, it will create a shortcut to the server on the desktop. This shortcut will automatically launch FTP Explorer and attempt to connect to the server with this directory as its initial path. Shortcuts can also be created on the desktop from within the Connection Dialog.

Download

This option is only available if a connection is active. Choose this option to queue a transfer request for the selected file(s) or directory(ies). The chosen files will be downloaded to the default download directory. This option differs from Download To… since the user is not prompted for a location or new file name for the incoming file(s). If a file exists in the default download directory with the same name, one of two things will happen:

  1. You will be prompted to overwrite the file if it is the same size or larger than the file to be downloaded.
  2. You will be prompted to resume the transmission of the chosen file if the local copy is smaller, or has an older date than the file chosen for download. The resume feature is not supported by all FTP servers, so do not take for granted that the download of a file can be resumed on every server.

Transfer requests are handled by the Transfer Manager, and may take place after the connection to the existing server is closed, thus allowing the user to continue to browse and download or upload files on other FTP servers, rather than wait on file transfers.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file you want to download and select this option from the Context Menu.

Upload

Choose this option to select one or more files on your local machine and submit a transfer request to copy these files to the current directory on the active server. You may also drag and drop files onto the File View or List View area of the program to queue a transfer request to copy the selected files to the active server.

Transfer requests are handled by the Transfer Manager, and may take place after the connection to the existing server is closed, thus allowing the user to continue to browse and request or download files from other FTP sites, rather than wait on file transfers.

This option is only available if a connection is active.

Download To

Use the Download To: option to initiate a transfer request to download one or more files to the directory and file name(s) of your choice. You will be prompted for the file name(s) and location(s). Download To:… differs from Download since the user will be prompted for a file name and the location before the download takes place. Additionally, if a file with the same name already exists in the directory that you choose for the download, you will be prompted to overwrite, or to resume the transfer as explained in the Download section above.

Transfer requests are handled by the Transfer Manager, and may take place after the connection to the existing server is closed, thus allowing the user to continue to browse and request or download files from other FTP sites, rather than wait on file transfers.

A connection must be active, and one or more files must be selected before this option is available.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file(s) you want to save and select this option from the Context Menu.

Save Log As

Use the Save Log As command to place the entire contents of the FTP Log into a file for future reference. Additionally, sections of the FTP Log may be captured, and placed on the clipboard by using the Copy option from the Edit Menu. See the section on the View Menu for more information on capturing text from within the FTP Log.

New Folder

Use the New option to create a new folder in the directory that is being displayed in the File View Area. Your user permissions must include the right to create directories, or the action will fail.

Mouse Shortcut: While FTP Explorer is displaying the directory in which you want to create the new folder, right click in the File View Area, and select this option from the Context Menu.

Delete

Delete will delete the selected file providing your login grants you permission to delete files on the server to which FTP Explorer is attached.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file you want to delete and select this option from the Context Menu.

Rename

Rename will prompt for a new name for the file that is currently selected. The new name will replace the old, providing your login grants you permission to rename files on the server to which FTP Explorer is attached.

Mouse Shortcut: Right click on the file you want to rename and select this option from the Context Menu.

Recent Connections

The numbered options displayed in this menu are the last four connections that were established. Select any of the items in the list to connect to the chosen site.

Permissions

This option displays the permissions dialog which allows you to set permissions on the selected file(s).

Properties

Use this option to display the properties of the currently selected file. The option will not be available if an active connection is not open, and a file is not selected. The items listed in the properties dialog may also be listed within the file view or List View area of the program if the List View area is configured to display "Details".

Exit

Choose the Exit option to close the FTP Explorer program. Any settings that may have been altered during the current session will automatically be saved when the program closes.